Webster Primary School

  1. About Us
  2. Governors


The Governing Board consists of 12 trustees: 2 Staff/2 Parents/3 Community/5 Co-opted

All Governors are Directors of the Company.

Three Members form the Academy Trust whose overall objective is 'to advance for the public benefit, education in the United Kingdom, without prejudice, by establishing, maintaining, carrying on, managing and developing The Academy, offering a broad and balanced curriculum'.

All governors have a responsibility in law to be responsible for the legal and financial side of the effective running of the Academy and for all company compliance in relation to Companies House and at all times to act responsibly and to have the best interests of the company at heart.

The day to day running of the school is delegated to the Principal and Head of School.

Webster Primary School is a company limited by guarantee with Company Number 8403949 and Registered Office at Denmark Road, Greenheys, M15 6JU

Our Chair of Governors is Nisadha Bandara, please send all communications to school: Webster Primary School, Denmark Road, Manchester, M15 6JU. 


Our Chair of Governors Nisadha Bandara was interviewed for this BBC News article about diversity in governance: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-60912316?scrlybrkr=374b625b 

  Meet the Governors:

(Click HERE for attendance at meetings from September 2020/21)

Nisadha Bandara Vivien Niblett 
Chair of Governing Board Vice Chair of Governing Board
Community Governor Co-Opted Governor
End of Term: 14.03.26 End of Term: 14.03.26  
Sabeen Rauf Hannah Phelan Ruwaida Mohammed Illida Nawi John Greenwood Jonathan Hawkes
Principal  Staff Governor Parent Governor Community Governor Community Governor/ Member Co-opted Governor
  End of Term: 16.11.27 

 End of Term: 3.3.26

End of Term: 3.3.26

End of Term: 22.3.26 End of Term: 19.6.27
Ruth Jesson-Smith Mohammad Rahman Vacancy John Dalziel Nick Ponsillo John Strong
Co-opted Governor Parent Governor Staff Governor Member Member Governance  Professional
End of Term: 3.3.26 End of Term: 3.3.26 From: 06.09.2016 From: 15.02.2018
Clair Wain
Business Manager



Pay Curriculum Resources Audit
Nisadha Bandara Vivien Niblett (Chair)  Jonathan Hawkes (Chair) Nisadha Bandara
Jonathan Hawkes Mohammad Rahman Sabeen Rauf John Greenwood
Illida Nawi Sabeen Rauf  John Greenwood
Nisadha Bandara  Ruth Jesson-Smith
Jonathan Hawkes Nisadha Bandara
Illida Nawi Hannah Phelan
Ruwaida Mohammed
Hannah Phelan

Also attending: Clair Wain (School Business Manager)


 Governor links:

Health & Safety Safeguarding SEND Reading  EYFS Pupil Voice Equality Duty

 John Greenwood

 Jonathan Hawkes

 Nisadha Bandara

Illida Nawi

Ruth Jesson-Smith

Vivien Niblett

Ruwaida Mohammed


Click the following documents to find out more: 

Governors vision statement:  

Below are pictures from the Governor's Curriculum Information Evening in October: