Webster Primary School

  1. Curriculum
  2. EYFS

Early Years Foundation Stage- EYFS

EYFS at Webster

At Webster we aim to provide the highest quality care and education for all pupils to ensure a strong foundation for their future learning. We create safe and happy environments with motivating and enjoyable learning experiences.

We have high ambitions for all pupils and recognise that children have different starting points to their learning. Language and communication are at the centre of our EYFS curriculum;  pupils are encouraged to discuss, question and share their thoughts and ideas.  Children take part in taught sessions throughout the day balanced with self directed learning time in the indoor and outdoor learning environments.  New skills and knowledge are developed though playing and exploring, being active, investigating and thinking creatively, developing the key skills necessary for a smooth transition into Key Stage 1. 

 We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children’s needs, interests, and stages of development across the seven areas of learning to enable the children to achieve the Early Learning Goals. Children's learning is assessed using Development Matters and against the Early Learning Goals at the end of Reception. 

At Webster pupils take part in a daily phonics and maths lesson, alongside learning through their topic. Pupils take part in Drumming, art sessions with Artist in Education Dave Hulston, music sessions with Manchester Camerata and PE lessons with Manchester City in the Community. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS is the framework for learning for children from Birth to 5 years old.  Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development:

Prime areas: 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development- Self Regulation, Managing Self, Building Relationships  
  • Communication and Language- Speaking, Listening, Attention & Understanding

Children's ability to speak, listen and understand the world around them is key to progress in all areas of learning. Pupils in the EYFS take part in daily focused speaking and listening activities and the use of TFW has a great impact on the progress of pupils.

  • Physical Development- Fine and Gross Motor Skills

Pupils develop skills through time in the outdoor provision and through working with sports coaches and during focused motor skills activities.  Fine motor skills are developed with a wide range of activities in the continuous provision.

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy- Comprehension, Word Reading, Writing 

TFW (Talk for Writing) is an engaging teaching framework developed by Pie Corbett, supported by Julia Strong. It is powerful because it is based on the principles of how children learn. It enables children to imitate the language they need for a particular topic orally, before reading and analysing it, and then writing their own version. Pupils take part in daily phonics sessions.

  • Mathematics-  Number, Numerical Patterns

Our aim in the EYFS is to ensure that pupils develop firm mathematical foundations. An emphasis is placed on  understating number, the composition of number and making comparisons between amounts.  

  • Understanding the World-  Past & Present, The Natural World, People, Cultures & Communities
  • Expressive Arts and Design- Creating with Materials, Being Imaginative & Expressive


The document below details the topics covered and the Talk for Writing plan for Nursery and Reception:


Pupils are taught phonics through the Little Wandle phonics scheme. For more information: https://www.littlewandlelettersandsounds.org.uk/resources/for-parents/ 

The videos below model how to say the Reception sounds learnt in Autumn Term 1 and 2:

Other useful documents: